Vintage pinup girl

Taking a suggestion from a reader (and please do send in any requests!), I made my very first attempt at a pin-up girl look today. I’ve never thought of myself as the type that could pull that vixen-inspired look off, but I totally did! Thanks to Ashley’s pin-up girl request, I got to feel super sexy all day long. Unfortunately, I had a lot of stuff to get done around the house today, but kept getting distracted by mirrors! What other suggestions or requests do you have for a look?

I think there are four important parts to this vintage look:

  1. super perfect skin with a really matte finish
  2. bright red lips
  3. smokin’ hot winged eyeliner
  4. dark, perfectly shaped eyebrows

To achieve this look, I made sure my skin was really well concealed, using Benefit’s erase paste (that stuff is magic, I swear), then doing my regular foundation routine, and finishing it off with tons of finishing powder – Bare Escentuals mineral veil, to be exact.  Next, I took a dark brown shadow to fill in and shape my brows. Generally, I tend to just fill them in and set them with a gel, but today I changed the shape a bit – accentuating the arch and elongating the end.

For the eyes, the trick is to use an eyeshadow that is a shade or two lighter than your skin tone. I’m actually not sure what category Spellbound falls in (matte, glimmer, or glimpse), but if I were to do this look again (which I totally will), I would choose a shadow with more of a matte finish. In the crease, use a matte medium brown, and line with a gel liner in black. I already have long lashes, so I don’t own any false lashes. If I did, though, I would have put them on for this look – at least on the outer half of the eye.

Clockwise from left: Night Owl, Buxom Leatherette Lashliner, Spellbound, Retro

Ecotools eyeshadow brush, full-edged liner, pencil brush, eyeliner brush

On the eyes:

  • Original Prime Time Eyelid Primer
  • Spellbound applied generously all over lid from lashes to brow, using Ecotools eyeshadow brush
  • Night Owl blended into crease, using Ecotools brush
  • Night Owl lightly applied under lower lashes with pencil brush
  • Spellbound lightly applied under inner lower lashes with pencil brush
  • Retro blended very lightly into outer corner, using Ecotools brush
  • Buxom Leatherette lashliner applied along top lashes using full-edged liner brush, winged out at sides, then cleaned up and pointed with the eyeliner brush
  • Big Tease mascara

On the lips:

  • Concentrating on making a full, round shape to the lips, apply lipliner in Natural all around lips and then blended in
  • Pretty Amazing lipcolor in Strength

On the face:

  • Original Prime Time
  • Benefit Erase Paste to conceal uneven skin tone and undereye circles
  • Original foundation in Fairly Medium, mixed with Bisque to lighten it
  • Lots of mineral veil for a soft, matte look
  • Miracle blush applied only to apples of cheeks
  • Beauty mark applied using eyeliner brush and Buxom Suede lashliner

About Essy
I'm finally figuring out this makeup thing in my 30's. It's so much fun to collect and play with new colors and styles. I'm not a makeup artist, and far from it. I welcome any comments and tips you have!

3 Responses to Vintage pinup girl

  1. Nico says:

    Hottie!

  2. cindy says:

    Love it!!!

  3. Oooo! Veeeerry pinup! I’m definitely a fan. Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 98 other followers

