Sephora + Pantone Universe Collection – Tangerine Tango

TANGERINE! Oh, my dear. I got super excited when I saw this Sephora + Pantone Universe collection, because orange has always been my favorite color. I stopped by my local Sephora yesterday for their VIB (Very Important Beauty) event to get my free umbrella and bag of samples (yay!) and this beauty stopped me right in my tracks. Now, I realize that orange (ahem, “tangerine”) is not for everybody, but for those that are willing to branch out a little bit, it can be surprisingly flattering. I am fair with neutral-pink undertones. I would LOVE to see this collection on a deeper-skinned beauty.

First of all, the packaging is nice, for the most part. The lipstick has a magnetic closure, which I liked a lot, but the four-cornered magnetic closures on the blush duo and the eyeshadow quad gave my clumsy hands some trouble – as I pried open the eyeshadow lid, it slipped and knicked out a huge chunk of one of the eyeshadows.  I would have preferred a traditional snap open lid for these two products.

These two blushes are amazing. Just the right amount of peachy coral to compliment a lot of skintones.

This blush was a huge disappointment. It was nowhere near as pigmented as I think it should have been, and it took four applications to get it to show up on my skin. Then once I finally got the color to show up, I ended up being a huge glitterball. See all that orange dust around the product? That’s from having to swipe my brush across it so many times.

The eyeshadows are a mixed bag. The lightest color is really nice and makes a great highlight color. The orange is quite soft, so a lot of product grabs onto your brush, but is not as pigmented as I thought it would be. I still really like the peachy tangerine color that it ended up being, but it wasn’t even close to the rich orange in the pot. The darker colors weren’t all that pigmented either, but I’m betting they’ll make a nice liner when used wet.

The lipstick is fantastic. If you’re brave, you can wear it as a full-on orange lip, but for daytime, work-appropriate makeup, it can still be applied lightly and be worn under a neutral lipgloss – I intend to try it under a nude, a peach, and a pink lipgloss. Even though it’s orange, I think it can be really versatile. It’s smooth and creamy and lasted a long time.

This gloss is AMAZING. It’s quite orange when I first put it on, but it mellows out into a corally peach. The color stays for several hours and leaves my lips feeling hydrated. In one ten-minute trip to the grocery store, I got two separate compliments on it, from random strangers. My only complaint is that it leaves a bit of shimmer behind on the lip once it wears off.

Top row: Tangerine Tango Eyeshadow quad, Tangerine Tango Twist eyeliner

Bottom row: Tangerine Tango lipgloss, lipstick, Prisma Chrome blush, Blush duo

On the eyes:

  • LORAC eye primer
  • Sephora + Pantone Universe Tangerine Tango eyeshadow quad: Cream color under brow and on inner 1/3 of lid, Tangerine color all over lid, from lash to crease, Brown shade blended lightly above crease, Charcoal shade in outer V
  • Tangerine Tango Twist eyeliner in a thick line along upper lashline
  • Buxom lashliner in Leatherettte in a thin line along upper lashine
  • Mally Volumizing mascara

On the lips:

  • Sephora + Pantone Universe Tangerine Tango Luminous lipgloss

On the face:

  • DiorSkin Forever Flawless Perfection Wear foundation in Cameo
  • bareMinerals Tinted Hydrating Mineral Veil
  • Sephora Pantone Tangerine Tango Prisma Chrome blush

About Essy
I'm finally figuring out this makeup thing in my 30's. It's so much fun to collect and play with new colors and styles. I'm not a makeup artist, and far from it. I welcome any comments and tips you have!

One Response to Sephora + Pantone Universe Collection – Tangerine Tango

  1. Susan says:

    you look so great in these colors! LOVE the lipcolors on you too!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 100 other followers

