I found a Grasshopper in the Bamboo on a Wednesday!

I love wearing bold colors on my eyes!

Today I’m demonstrating the art of foiling. The term foiling simply means applying color with a damp brush. I like using the larger end of a BE Foil and Fuse brush.  Use too much water and the shadow will just drip down your face. Use too little water and you’ll have a pasty mess. My personal technique is to dampen the brush and then dip it in the loose shadow. I’ll then swirl the damp brush and shadow in the lid of the eyeshadow pot until it is the right consistency. Then I paint the mixture where I want it and close my eyes to let it dry for a few seconds.

I love the experimenting with foiling. It changes the shade and dimension of the shadow you choose. Some shadows, especially mattes, will turn into a darker, more opaque shade of the dry shadow. And other colors, like the one I wore today, turns into a bold, glimmery statement.

The Look:

On the eyes:

  • BE Original Prime Time for eyes
  • Wednesday (from the Good Morning, Gorgeous collection) foiled from lashes to crease
  • Grasshopper (dry) in the crease for a little dimension
  • Bamboo foiled on inner 1/3 of lid and on inner V.
  • Buxom lashliner in Leatherette
  • L’oreal Voluminous Mascara in Carbon Black

On the face:

  • BE Original Prime Time for face
  • Original foundation in Fairly Medium
  • Optimist blush
  • Aveda lip glaze in Morning Rose

I went out of town for a few days on a last minute business trip with my husband, so as I was hurriedly packing yesterday, I just threw a bunch of e/s pots in my bag. It would have taken too long to try to plan out specific looks ahead of time for the next few days. So come back to find out how I can change up my look over the next few days with a limited color range and assortment!

About Essy
I'm finally figuring out this makeup thing in my 30's. It's so much fun to collect and play with new colors and styles. I'm not a makeup artist, and far from it. I welcome any comments and tips you have!

One Response to I found a Grasshopper in the Bamboo on a Wednesday!

  1. Tuesday says:

    I LOVE this! Also, I would like some of your lashes please. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

