The Skyline from the Nude Beach looked like Black Pearls

The Skyline from the Nude Beach looked like Black Pearls

I’ve been wanting to try out Black Pearl eyeshadow. BE describes it as a “dark smoky violet sheen” and that’s exactly how it goes on.  It’s a really, really pretty color. I actually foiled it to see what kind of effect that would have on it, but I wouldn’t recommend foiling this color. Some of the eyeshadows foil really beautifully, and some get a little clumpy, and some (like Black Pearl) wear off. I was wearing eyelid primer, but the foil just didn’t seem to want to stay. Regardless, the shadow still stayed in place all day, but the foiled part of Black Pearl became much sheerer. I thought the look was pretty dark until I went outside in natural light. Outside, it just looked like a smoky day look.

Skyline, Black Pearl, Nude Beach

Skyline, Black Pearl, Nude Beach

To get the look, I prepped and primed my face.  Then I foiled Black Pearl all over the eyelid and up to just above the crease.  Skyline was used as a crease color, and Nude Beach was lightly swept onto the browbone, the inner V of the lid, and on the inner 1/3 of the lid. I blended out the harsh lines of the dark colors. Skyline was used again to wetline top and bottom lashes. I finished up the look with two coats of L’oreal Voluminous mascara in Carbon Black, Pearl Blossom blush, and on the lips was Pretty Amazing Charisma and a coat of Sugar Cookie.

On the eyes:

  • BE Original Prime Time Eyelid Primer
  • Black Pearl foiled all over lid, from lashes to just above crease
  • Skyline buffed lightly into crease
  • Nude Beach swept lightly over inner 1/3 of lid, inner V, and browbone
  • Skyline wetlined along upper and lower lashes
  • L’oreal Voluminous mascara in Carbon Black

On the face:

  • BE Original foundation in Fairly Medium
  • Pearl Blossom blush
  • Original Mineral Veil
  • Pretty Amazing lipcolor in Charisma
  • Sugar Cookie 100% Natural lipgloss

Pretty Amazing Charisma and Sugar Cookie 100% Natural lipgloss

What color combos would you like to see me try?

Don’t forget to sign up for the daily newsletter – a daily look delivered right to your inbox!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Essy
I'm finally figuring out this makeup thing in my 30's. It's so much fun to collect and play with new colors and styles. I'm not a makeup artist, and far from it. I welcome any comments and tips you have!

One Response to The Skyline from the Nude Beach looked like Black Pearls

  1. Davita says:

    I LOVE THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I will so be trying this one out as I have everything but Sugar Cookie. But I am sure I can find a suitable substitute.

Leave a Reply

