A Strength competition with Patina weights on the Nude Beach

Nude Beach, Patina

Pictures don’t do this eye look enough justice. I used Nude Beach, which is a staple in my collection, but I foiled it for the first time. I added High Shine Patina into the corner, and used a thin line of Buxom Leatherette lashliner. The effect is a very pretty, glimmery, high shine look without being over-the-top sparkly. I also wore Pretty Amazing lipcolor in Strength, but I blotted it twice in order to tone down the color, and then added Buxom lipgloss in Sugar. The result was a kind of shiny bright pink.

Nude Beach, Patina

Buxom Leatherette Lashliner, Patina, Nude Beach

Buxom Sugar, Pretty Amazing Strength

On the eyes:

  • BE Prime Time Eyelid Primer
  • Nude Beach foiled from lashes to crease
  • Patina in outer 1/3 of lid, slanting the angle so it comes closer to the middle of the lid as it is closest to the lashes
  • Patina under lower lashes
  • Buxom Leatherette along upper lashes
  • L’oreal Voluminous mascara in Carbon Black

On the face:

  • BE Original foundation in Fairly Medium
  • Pearl Blossom blush
  • Original Mineral Veil
  • Pretty Amazing Strength
  • Buxom Sugar lipgloss
  • Pretty Amazing Strength, Buxom Sugar

    Ta-da! Finished product.

What kind of interesting color combinations for lips have you dreamed up?


Sign up to have your daily look delivered right to your inbox!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


About Essy
I'm finally figuring out this makeup thing in my 30's. It's so much fun to collect and play with new colors and styles. I'm not a makeup artist, and far from it. I welcome any comments and tips you have!

6 Responses to A Strength competition with Patina weights on the Nude Beach

  1. Cheryl Mayer says:

    Gorgeous! Definitely going to try the eye combo! Thanks for all of your great ideas…I look forward to your blog.

  2. Cindy says:

    Very pretty!! (and ur complexion looks absolutely flawless—jealous!!!)

  3. Jeannie says:

    This looks incredible! I love the lip combo, never would have thought of that!

  4. Essy says:

    @Cheryl – thanks! It was a really pretty look, hope it turns out for you, too!

    @Cindy – A lot of the flawlessness has to do with a combination of BE and good lighting for the pictures (and I’m not being modest, I’ve got plenty of flaws in person, which you might see in July!)

    @Jeannie – I was surprised how well those two colors went together, too. I’ve got a few new lippies coming in the mail this week, can’t wait to try different combos with them too!

  5. Lisa says:

    Simply stunning! I love that Patina, haven’t seen it before. Also love you show the brushes you use, cannot get the hang of this eye blending thing down for the life of me! I think I need a vat of Nude Beach and Bare Skin, seem to be my go to staples.

    • Essy says:

      Thanks, Lisa! I’ll be sure to include more brush pics, I don’t think I have any in today’s or tomorrow’s looks. Nude Beach is definitely one of my faves.

Leave a Reply

