Bare Escentuals skincare – Before and After!

Before

After

I’ve been dying to write this post! I purchased several items from the Bare Escentuals skincare line after hearing some great reviews. After 30 days of continual use (morning and night), I’m ready to show my before and after photos. I must be a little on the crazy side to want to plaster closeup photos of my face in all it’s natural glory – fine lines, no makeup, and all!

I’m 32 (well, almost…my birthday is next week) and my skin is still in pretty decent shape. However, I basically had no consistent skincare routine throughout my 20s, and often went to bed without washing my face. In the mornings, I usually washed my face with plain old bar soap and moisturized with Ponds. In my 30’s, I’ve started noticing decreased elasticity in my skin, and those nasty little fine lines around my eyes. Broken capillaries, dullness, and monthly breakouts have all been a part of my struggle.

Before

After

The products from the Bare Escentuals skincare line that I started using a little over a month ago include:

Product description from Bare Escentuals:

This 30-day cleanser and moisturizer kit for combination skin is the perfect introduction to bareMinerals Skincare. Our Purifying Facial Cleanser removes makeup and impurities while also hydrating and renewing skin. Our Purely Nourishing Moisturizer completes your routine, keeping your skin moisturized and protected so you can have younger-looking skin day after day. Both formulas are powered by our 100% pure RareMinerals ActiveSoil Complex clinically proven to deliver incredible skin-renewing benefits, including faster cell turnover, smaller-looking pores, increased luminosity and antioxidant protection.

Product description from Bare Escentuals:

Deeply cleanse skin and lift away impurities with this luxurious cleanser. Powered by our 100% pure RareMinerals ActiveSoil Complex, this non-drying formula bursts into a rich lather when activated with water to deep clean pores, instantly refresh skin, and give you a naturally luminous glow.

Product description from Bare Escentuals:

Restore firmness and reduce puffiness around the eye area with this dramatically effective treatment that reveals younger looking eyes. Powered by our 100% pure RareMinerals ActiveSoil Complex, this formula delivers firmer, smoother skin around the delicate eye area morning and night.

Product description from Bare Escentuals:

This groundbreaking nighttime mineral treatment is powered by our proprietary 100% pure RareMinerals ActiveSoil Complex. Clinically proven to dramatically reduce the appearance of pores, increase luminosity and deliver faster cell turnover-resulting in miraculous skin-renewing benefits. Experience younger-looking, radiant, even skin tone with improved texture. This concentrated powder formula replenishes skin while you sleep so you’ll wake up to the famous bareMinerals naturally luminous glow. Available in four tones to instantly diffuse imperfections.

Product description from Bare Escentuals:

Conceal and prevent future breakouts with this targeted remedy and brush. The exfoliating properties of our 100% pure RareMinerals ActiveSoil Complex along with the blemish fighting benefits of natural sulfur effectively address blemishes while helping to prevent future breakouts from forming. This non-irritating formula also helps to minimize the appearance of pores, neutralize redness and diffuse imperfections.

Product description from Bare Escentuals:

Gently exfoliate, cleanse and renew skin with this water-activated powder cleanser that’s powered by our 100% pure RareMinerals ActiveSoil Complex. This concentrated formula delivers a brighter, smoother complexion with smaller-looking pores and a naturally luminous glow.

Before

After

Right away, I started noticing the bags under my eyes becoming less pronounced, thanks to the Firming Eye Treatment. I also fell in love with the Deep Foaming Cleanser right away – it left my skin feeling squeaky clean and fresh day after day. The moisturizer is creamy and thick enough to feel like it’s not watered down, but thin enough to feel light on my skin.

The cleanser is really something, though. It completely takes off all makeup – even stubborn eye makeup – without irritating my eyes at all. I often wash my face with my contacts still in, and it STILL doesn’t irritate my eyes. I can really get in there and scrub off caked on mascara and this cleanser is gentler than anything I’ve ever used around my eyes.

The Exfoliating Treatment is interesting, but not my favorite of the skincare products. It comes in powder form, and when mixed with some Deep Foaming Cleanser and a little water, makes a great mask. However, I’m not sure exactly how much exfoliating it actually does, or how much deeper it’s cleaning my skin in comparison to just the Deep Foaming Cleanser

Before

After

A couple of my problem skin areas have always been blackheads and large pores on and around my nose and chin, and a patch of milia (small white bumps that never seem to go away) on one of my cheeks. Between the Pure Transformation Night Treatment and the Blemish Therapy, my nose is looking much less like a minefield and more like a regular nose (I’ve also noticed that my nose is producing less oil). Incredibly, the milia on my cheeks that I’ve had for at least a year seems to be disappearing.

Before

After

Overall, the products that I will continue to use (and may have severe anxiety attacks should BE ever stop making them) are: Deep Foaming Cleanser, Firming Eye Treatment, Purely Nourishing Moisturizer, Purifying Facial Cleanser, and the Blemish Therapy.

About Essy
I'm finally figuring out this makeup thing in my 30's. It's so much fun to collect and play with new colors and styles. I'm not a makeup artist, and far from it. I welcome any comments and tips you have!

8 Responses to Bare Escentuals skincare – Before and After!

  1. Cindy says:

    Wow, u r a brave, brave girl!! But beautiful! And u can really see a noticeable difference in overall “glow”, and esp. In the eye area!!

  2. missy silva says:

    Awesome. I do see a difference and it looks great. I have preety much the same problems as you and yes thos darn milia. I am awaiting my products minus the blemish and exfoliater and can’t wait to give them a try. Maybe I will do a before and after too. Thanks for posting this.

  3. Jeannie says:

    Wow. First of all, way to be brave enough to post these photos. I had trouble posting photos of my lashes naked! And Second, they really show what a difference the BE skin care line has made! I have been using the eye firming treatment for about a year now and I have really noticed a difference, I just wish that I had taken a before photo! And of course I love all the other skin care products that I have tried so far!

  4. Tabatha D says:

    OMG!!!! I am so going to have to find a way to fitthis in my budget. i mean sure your eye area looks better BUT what i am most impressed with is the fading ability the product has. in the after photos your freckles on your nose are hardly visible (ihave thos too) & your entire face is brighter & any hint of pigmentation issues have been eliminated.

    I am not going to say you are brave ….this is yourpassion & you are gorgeous without makeup…girl if i looked like that “au natural” i would go wthout makeup all the time. the make up just accents all that beauty that you already have. but the before & after photos are awesome & i am sold…no doubt…when i can afford it. i have been using merlot skin care & it is pretty amazing too. i use cleanser, grape seed oil, & antiwrinkle cream but i am about to xpand my products. it, too, fades hyperpigmentation & eliminates the discoloration of scars & freckles & it cleans the pores out. i like it but i had wonderful results but not like you had w/the be.

    Enough rambling….this is awesome!!!

  5. kim says:

    question?? Why would you take before pics without a flash and then after pics with a flash??? That doesn’t help much because the flash washes out problematic areas, making it seem much better. Those are good pics but it’d be more helpful if you took them at the same time and lighting as the before pics…I desperately wanna try this but I’m skeptical.

    • Essy says:

      First, I just want to say that I had only been blogging for just over a month when I did this review, and I am not a professional photographer. I have gotten better over time for the sake of the blog.

      Second, the “after” pics were NOT taken with a flash – as you can see in the reflection in my eyes, both sets were taken in front of a window. Unfortunately at the time I was living in New England, where the weather is fickle. The “before” pics were on more of a cloudy day, and the “after” pics were on a sunnier day (although I was definitely not standing in direct sunlight).

      I’m not trying to pull the wool over anybody’s eyes. I do this for free, I buy my own products, I am in no way associated with this company. Even though the lighting in the before and after pictures was not the same, I felt confident enough that my skin had transformed for the better and that those changes were visible regardless of the lighting. These products worked (and continue to work, as I still use them) for me, but they don’t work for everyone. My suggestion is to purchase whatever you want, and use the products for a couple of weeks, and if they don’t work for you, you can return them. If they do work for you, great!

      • kim says:

        I got samples of the dry cream and facial wash from sephora and WOW they really do work!!!! I will be buying them in full size soon =D

      • Essy says:

        Kim, I am SO GLAD that you got some samples! I should have mentioned to you that I also switched to the dry skin cream and love it WAY more than the combo skin moisturizer. The facial wash is pretty amazing, right? I can rub it right in my eyes, even with my contacts still in, with no irritation.

Leave a Reply

