My Cheerful BFF Enjoys a Citrus Twist

 

So, last night, my BFF and I were texting back and forth about Kathy Griffin. It was getting late, and I was getting tired, but I was thinking about what look to wear for today. I asked Joe (aka sugarmuffin) to pick a color scheme, and his first answer was “space traveler theme.” Uh… hmm. Then he changed his mind and wanted me to do a look celebrating his last day of classes for the semester (he’s a professor) and said  it should be a “carefree summertime freedom” look. And I said, well, I can certainly do that. These colors are lovely together and make me want to go to Boston Common and have a picnic.

Clockwise from left: Citrus Twist, Ulta Extreme Wear gel liner in Perfection, Enjoy, BFF

Left: Enjoy, Right: Butterfly

Enjoy is a color from the Perfect Gift Volume 3. It’s a lovely buttery yellow. I swatched it next to Butterfly, which is fairly similar, but I think Enjoy is a bit brighter.

Full Edged liner, Contour & Define

Pretty Amazing Ambition, Buxom Celeste

On the eyes:

  • PTEP Brightening
  • Enjoy patted over inner 3/4 of lid, from lashes to crease, using Contour & Define brush
  • Citrus Twist patted and buffed onto outer 1/3 of lid and crease, using Contour and Define brush
  • BFF swept under brow and inner corner of eye
  • Ulta Extreme Wear gel liner in Perfection applied along upper and lower lashlines, using full edged liner brush
  • Flawless Definition Volumizing mascara

On the lips:

  • Pretty Amazing lipcolor in Ambition
  • Buxom lipgloss in Celeste

On the face:

  • Prime Time Brightening primer
  • Original foundation in Fairly Medium
  • Cheerful blush on apples of cheeks
  • Healthy Radiance all-over face color under the cheekbones to contour
  • Original Mineral Veil

About Essy
I'm finally figuring out this makeup thing in my 30's. It's so much fun to collect and play with new colors and styles. I'm not a makeup artist, and far from it. I welcome any comments and tips you have!

4 Responses to My Cheerful BFF Enjoys a Citrus Twist

  1. missy says:

    I’ll be honest you did a great job but i dont think its your best look. Too blaugh for you. I like you in all the “colors” and smokey looks.

  2. Davita Jones says:

    I think you do a great job choosing colors that are beautiful together, I love the lippie combo ( as that is a PA hard to figure out how to make wearable) , I think you do need a touch more cheek color cause u do look a little washed out and I do think this wld be a great weekend look or vacation look. Love you!!!

  3. Essy says:

    LOL you know what I just realized? I forgot to do my eyebrows! I’m sure that didn’t help with looking washed out. And you’re both right, I look pale and tired. Well, that’s what this whole blog is about – I’m still a beauty beginner, and all the beginners reading this blog can learn from my mistakes! 🙂 Thanks for the awesome feedback!

  4. Chrissie says:

    I think you did a great job – love the look! I’m always impressed by your eye and lip combos. I have similar coloring to you, but I’m not brave enough yet to do bright lips. 🙂

Leave a Reply

