Trixie had Moxie while walking the Pekingese, Bull Dog, and Beagle

I had some creasing and smudging issues today with my eye makeup. I love experimenting, as you know, and part of experimenting is stumbling upon a fantastic color combination, while part of experimentation makes for a messy makeup job by the end of the day. Live and learn. When I first applied these colors, there were three distinct colors (bright blue, light blue, and pink). It was bright yet soft, vibrant yet not too over-the-top. Perfect for a day spent with my friend April doing lunch and going to see Bridesmaids (have you seen this movie? It’s fantastic!).

I have my suspicions that where I went wrong was that I applied too much eyelid primer and didn’t let it set long enough before I started applying my (creamy textured) shadows.  The colors were already smudged by the time I took pictures, and by the end of the day, the Buxom lashliner (which normally stays put with no problem) was smeared and the eyeshadows were creased and running together. Oh well. Wish you could have seen the colors like five seconds after I applied them. I’ll attempt this look again, with some adjustments, some other time.

Clockwise from left: Buxom Bull Dog, Buxom Pekingese, Buxom Leatherette Lashliner, Buxom Beagle

Full-edged liner, Foil & Fuse, Quickie Shadow, (large) crease defining brush

Pretty Amazing Moxie, Buxom Trixie

On the eyes:

  • Prime Time Brightening Eyelid Primer
  • Pekingese applied all over lid with Foil & Fuse brush, from lashes to crease
  • Bull Dog applied on outer 1/3 of lid and into crease, using Foil & Fuse brush
  • Beagle applied on inner 1/3 of lid and blended, using Foil & Fuse brush
  • Crease Defining brush used to blend colors slightly
  • Buxom Leatherette lashliner applied to upper lashes only, winged out, using Full-Edged liner brush
  • Flawless Definition Volumizing mascara (1 coat)

On the lips:

  • Pretty Amazing lipcolor in Moxie
  • Buxom Trixie

On the face:

  • MAC concealer
  • Prime Time Brightening primer
  • Original foundation in Fairly Medium
  • Pink Petal blush

About Essy
I'm finally figuring out this makeup thing in my 30's. It's so much fun to collect and play with new colors and styles. I'm not a makeup artist, and far from it. I welcome any comments and tips you have!

2 Responses to Trixie had Moxie while walking the Pekingese, Bull Dog, and Beagle

  1. cindy says:

    This set of colors gives u m&m eyes again lol! For what it’s worth, I luv the fact that u post boo-boos, too !!! U’re incredibly talented to b a “BEginner” ahem! Lol and give hope to those of us that really are a bit more…challenged. 😉 anyway, still a very pretty look!

    • Essy says:

      M&M eyes, lol! I really cringe when posting the “boo-boo” looks, but I think that’s what this is all about. In my opinion, seeing those looks keeps it less intimidating. Some of the professional sites are super informative but everything always looks impossible to achieve in real life! And hey, at least I can share my mistakes so next time you think you applied too much eye primer, you can remember what a hot mess it’ll be later. 🙂

Leave a Reply

