Phoebe saw a Blue Moon on Tuesday

I had a request to use the Bare Escentuals color “Blue Moon.” It’s a lovely sky blue color, but one that I’ve only used as an accent color in past looks. I wanted to feature it in a starring role but once again, I was afraid of looking too Mimi or too 1979. I decided to foil it, and WOW!  It’s a gorgeous color when foiled. It really popped on my eyes, and I think foiling Blue Moon would look incredible on someone with dark blue or grey eyes.

Sometimes I plan out which colors I want to use, and think about the color combinations ahead of time. And sometimes…I just let instinct take over.  Tuesday, the lovely sparkly pink from the Good Morning Gorgeous collection, kind of jumped into my hand and I accepted the challenge! As I was applying it, I was thinking maybe I made a mistake, maybe I looked a little too much like Rainbow Brite (though I was her biggest fan in the 80’s). I kept working with it, adding Saturday as a highlight and Phoebe as a liner. It’s not an everyday look, but I ended up liking it a lot as the day went on.

I think a look like this works especially well for people with hooded lids like me. You just see a tiny hint of that great blue color, but then as soon as I look down or blink, you get the full effect.

Clockwise from left: Blue Moon, Tuesday, Phoebe, Saturday

Pencil brush, Heavenly Liner, Precision Eye, Foil & Fuse

Pretty Amazing Ambition, Buxom Iris

On the eyes:

  • PTEP Brightening Opal
  • Blue Moon foiled over lid from lashes to just below crease, using Foil & Fuse brush
  • Tuesday patted into crease and outer V using Precision Eye brush
  • Saturday swept on inner corner and up along browbone using Precision Eye brush
  • Phoebe dry lined along upper lashes and outer 1/2 of lower lashes using Heavenly Liner brush
  • Phoebe smudged using Pencil brush
  • 2 coats of Buxom mascara

 

On the lips:

  • Pretty Amazing Ambition
  • Buxom Iris (I love this combination!!)

On the face:

  • Prime Time Brightening
  • Benefit Erase Paste to conceal
  • Original foundation in Fairly medium
  • Miracle blush with a bit of Tuesday over it
  • Healthy Radiance to contour under cheekbones
  • Original mineral veil

Do you like free giveaways?  Enter to win a MakeUp ForEver goodie bag here until 7/28/2011!

About Essy
I'm finally figuring out this makeup thing in my 30's. It's so much fun to collect and play with new colors and styles. I'm not a makeup artist, and far from it. I welcome any comments and tips you have!

4 Responses to Phoebe saw a Blue Moon on Tuesday

  1. mariella says:

    Beautiful look Sara! As always your application is gorgeous! Can you do a look with the smoky eye kit? It has celestine and skyline, I love the colors but can’t get it to look right. Thanks so much, I look forward to your daily looks in the mornings!

    • Essy says:

      You bet! Look for it in a few days. I don’t have the smoky eye “kit,” but I do have both of those colors! I love requests! 🙂

  2. Jenny Ross says:

    Blue Moon is really cute on you, I recently A few weeks ago bought it at a BE Boutique and I am impressed that I can wear blue and not look like I’m stuck in the 80’s. Blue moon Foiled with Camp in the crease and Laura Geller Baked eyeshadow in “BIANCO” as your highlight is really cute together. I also used BE Stone Eyeliner on the lower lid and BE charcoal on the upper lid and it looked really cute together. If you ever try this one out, I would love to see it on you so just let me know… Hugs… 🙂

    • Essy says:

      I don’t have any of Laura Geller’s products (I want to try them, but my darn wallet slapped me across the face when I suggested it!). What color is Bianco? I’ll definitely try that look, sounds really pretty. I’ll put it on my request list, so look for it soon (I’ll wait a little while on it, though, since I just used Blue Moon).

Leave a Reply

