Exotic Sandra showed her Urban Nature when she picked a Water Lily

I know I’m exploring a few other brands right now, but my dears, I will always be posting looks with Bare Escentuals. No worries! I recently won the Urban Nature primer shadow from a contest that Mineral Madness was having. I must say… this product is odd. One minute I think it’s the best thing ever, and then next minute, I think it looks like an ugly bruise. I tried my hardest to get swatch pictures, but a picture just can’t describe this color. It definitely changes from olive green to like a lavender color depending on the light. I think that’s really cool, but it’s pretty much impossible to get a good picture of it. In any case, I wore it on my eyelids today and also swatched it on my hand, and it held up all day long – through some watery eyes and plenty of hand washing.

To bring out both the green and the purple in the primer shadow, I paired it with Water Lily and Exotic Sandra. I was feeling lazy today with my brushes, so I only used one brush for everything, which probably caused a bit of a mess. I applied the Urban Nature with my fingertip, then added a light wash of Queen Phyllis matte over it. I used the same brush for Exotic Sandra in the crease, then I swept on some Water Lily on the lid. Then I went back again with Queen Phyllis matte to add more highlight under the brow. So I didn’t get the cleanest color results on the browbone, but at least I learned a lesson about cleaning my brushes between shadows!

Queen Phyllis matte, Exotic Sandra, Water Lily

B&B Indigo, B&B Oz, Ecotools shadow brush

Buxom Claire

On the eyes:

  • Urban Nature Prime Time primer shadow applied with clean fingertip on lid, from lashes to above crease, more heavily toward the lashes
  • Queen Phyllis matte swept lightly from lashes to brow
  • Exotic Sandra buffed into crease
  • Water Lily swept onto lid
  • Oz Big & Bright liner applied in a thick line along upper lashes
  • Indigo Big & Bright liner applied to lower waterline and smudged under lower lashes
  • Buxom Leatherette lashliner applied in a very thin line just along upper lashline
  • FDVM (2 coats)

  

On the lips:

  • Buxom Claire (I think this one could have used a lipliner, such as Shell)

On the face:

  • Original Prime Time
  • Benefit Erase Paste
  • Retro liner shadow filling in brows
  • Original foundation in Fairly Medium
  • Pearl Blossom blush
  • Tinted Mineral Veil

My overall thoughts on this look…. eh.

About Essy
I'm finally figuring out this makeup thing in my 30's. It's so much fun to collect and play with new colors and styles. I'm not a makeup artist, and far from it. I welcome any comments and tips you have!

5 Responses to Exotic Sandra showed her Urban Nature when she picked a Water Lily

  1. Davita Jones says:

    I love the liner. I wldnt have thought to use that combo. I have done a color on bottom and a neutral on top. but this really looks nice

  2. cindy says:

    I have urban nature, think it looks more green/gray on me. Anyway, it looks REALLY pretty w/ the pretty wild kit! It’s also the BOMB for wetlining!

  3. mariella says:

    Very pretty Sara!

  4. Michelle Penick says:

    I love the look, but I don’t have water lily. What other colors can I use to recreate the look?

Leave a Reply

