Spotlight On: High Shine Luster

The new Spotlight On: High Shine Eyecolor kit from Bare Escentuals didn’t interest me until I got to swatch the colors in person. I’m a big fan of the high shine colors that Bare Escentuals makes, but I thought this was just another silver color. Breaking news: it’s not. When I swatched it in person, my first thought was that it was really similar to High Shine Glisten. It’s not. Then I thought it might be closer to High Shine Frost. Nope! It’s in a league all its own, and it’s beautiful! It’s described as “gilded chrome,” and by looking at it, I think it has a lot of yellow gold in it, some chrome, and even some hints of green in the right light. This was a weird thought I had when I applied it this morning, but I thought it looked like metallic butter. So, there’s that visual for you!!

Another note on the eyecolors today – when I swatched Rock Star in the store, I was blown away by all the sparkles. I don’t use black eyeshadows very often, but this was looked unbelievably glimmery and pretty on my hand. I was disappointed once I applied it to my crease. I think if I foiled this color, the true nature would come out better.

High Shine Luster, Rock Star, Emphasize It

Crease Defining, Flat Edged Shadow, Crease blending, B&B liner in Black Diamond

One more note on today’s look – I tried something new today with the lipcolor. The Pretty Amazing lipcolor in Allure is a beautiful peach color, but slightly too orange on my skin tone to wear alone. I lined my lips with a plum/berry colored liner, and filled in the lines on the sides of the lips, leaving the middle to fill in with Allure. Then I blended by rubbing my lips together, and voila! I love the result.

Pretty Amazing lipcolor in Allure, Jordana lipliner in Plush Plum

On the eyes:

  • Brightening PTEP
  • High Shine Luster applied all over lid up to crease, and under outer lower lashes, using sponge applicator
  • Rock Star gently buffed into crease and outer V
  • Emphasize it swept under brow and down to blend out harsh edges of Rock Star
  • Black Diamond Big & Bright liner along both waterlines and along upper lashline
  • Buxom mascara

  

On the lips:

  • Jordana lipliner in Plush Plum lining the lips, and filled in on the outer 1/3 of both upper and lower lips
  • Pretty Amazing lipcolor in Allure filling in the center, and then blended by pressing lips together

On the face:

  • Thin layer of Pure Transformation Night Treatment
  • Original foundation in Fairly Medium mixed with a bit of Healthy Radiance
  • Laura Mercier Secret Concealer #2 under eyes and around nose folds
  • Vintage Peach blush on apples
  • Original mineral veil

About Essy
I'm finally figuring out this makeup thing in my 30's. It's so much fun to collect and play with new colors and styles. I'm not a makeup artist, and far from it. I welcome any comments and tips you have!

7 Responses to Spotlight On: High Shine Luster

  1. Davita Jones says:

    SO pretty! I love the idea to de-orange Allure PA. I love rockstar! I have it from the smokey eye tutorial, I want the Luster HS but on the other side of that I dont need the other items in the kit. Still on the fence

  2. Bernice says:

    Sara, you have such a wonderful blog and most of all you are a very pretty lady.

    I happen to know that your personality is so sweet also.

    I was really happy to subscribe to your blog.

  3. Bernice says:

    Happy to be here.

  4. Sunni Wolfe says:

    I just bought this today so excited to see you post about it! Can’t wait to wear it!

  5. Jeanie says:

    I LOVE this! Great combo! Gotta get this high shine now!!

Leave a Reply

