Satin Ruffles and Frills have me Feeling Flush

I used a few new products in today’s look. I recently won a tarte emphasEYES gel liner with a double ended brush and was thrilled when I got back from my short trip to find it waiting for me in my mailbox. Also waiting for me was my recent ebay purchase – a Missha Perfect Cover bb cream from South Korea.  I keep hearing about these bb creams and found this one for a great price on ebay so I decided to give it a try and see what all the fuss was about.

First, the bb cream: I had to guess on a color (I chose #21) and it seems to be a pretty good match. It’s not too yellow, which is something I always worry about without being able to test a face color, and it wasn’t too pink (which would have been ok with me, actually), but I noticed even though it matched my skin in terms of fairness, it was extremely neutral – more brown than yellow or pink. It was nice and creamy but definitely did not give me full coverage. These bb creams promise that they can replace it all – moisturizer, sunscreen, primer, and foundation.  Personally, I think it worked great as a base to make a sheer foundation more of a full coverage, but didn’t provide full coverage itself. I will have to keep using it to give a better review than that.

The tarte emphasEYES gel liner is great! I’ve used two other gel liners – Buxom lashliners and Ulta extreme wear gel liners. I think this one was superior to both of the other brands that I’ve used. I’m a big fan of the Buxom lashliners but I do find they they can get a little clumpy when applying. The main reason I like the Ulta brand liners is their price ($4). This tarte liner was so easy to apply. The product definitely seems like a gel in the pot, but as soon as the product made contact with my skin it turned almost liquidy – in a good way – and it applied so smoothly. I noticed some smudging on the outer corners of my eyes by late afternoon, but for the most part, the product stayed where it should. I’ll test it out a few more times for smudging.

Frills, Satin Ruffle, tarte emphasEYES in brown

tarte eyeliner, blending, crease defining, ecotools shadow

BE 100% Natural lipgloss in Cherry Bomb, Jordana lipliner in Baby Berry

On the eyes:

  • tarte Lifted eye primer
  • Satin Ruffle patted all over lid from lashes into crease and up to brow, using Ecotools shadow brush
  • Frills buffed into crease using Crease Defining brush
  • tarte emphasEYES gel liner in brown applied along upper lashes and winged out, and smudged under lower lashes and into waterline
  • 2 coats MUFE smoky lash mascara

  

On the lips:

  • Jordana lipliner in Baby Berry
  • BE 100% Natural lipgloss in Cherry Bomb

On the face:

  • Missha Perfect Cover bb cream in #21
  • tarte maricuja concealer under the eyes
  • Retro liner shadow to fill in brows
  • BE Original foundation in Fairly Medium mixed with Advanced Clear Radiance
  • MAC mineralize blush in Feeling Flush


About Essy
I'm finally figuring out this makeup thing in my 30's. It's so much fun to collect and play with new colors and styles. I'm not a makeup artist, and far from it. I welcome any comments and tips you have!

Leave a Reply

