Smashbox Glambox Luxe Metallics Set

The first that I heard of Smashbox’s new Glambox Luxe Metallics set was when I saw it sitting innocently on display at Nordstrom. They had all the pieces out on display to play with, and the first product that caught my eye was the Fusion Soft Lights in Luster. I gave it a good swipe across my hand  and fell in love with the  illuminating highlights. The full size eyeshadow quad jumped into my hand next, and while I’m not always interested in neutrals (I mean, how many shades of brown do I really need to own?), I do love metallics, and even a light swatch of the colors on my arm revealed that they are highly pigmented.

Once I put the kit on my face, I am still impressed. The blush is a beautiful shade, it goes on smoothly, and is pigmented enough – not too little, and not so heavily pigmented that a regular sweep of the blush brush turns you into a clown. A blush has to be really special to blow me away (MAC mineralize Feeling Flush), and this one was just average to me. I’ll use it, most definitely, but it didn’t blow me away. The Vamp liner has the potential to be great. The product wasn’t being picked up easily by my brush, but maybe that’s because it’s a new product and has to be broken in. The color is a nice plum-toned brown, creamy consistency, and once I actually got it onto my brush, it applied smoothly. The lipglosses were just lipglosses. A nice neutral nude and a sparkly rosy pink.  The mascara was good but I’d rather wait on trying it a few more times before judging it… after one time using tarte’s Lights Camera Lashes mascara, I deemed it to be “just okay,” but it’s now one of my top two favorites, so I’ll give this one a fair chance.

The Fusion Soft Lights really gave me a nice luminous glow. I applied it down my nose, apples of my cheeks up to temples, and center of forehead. I’ll be reaching for this product often. The eyeshadows were great – fantastic pigmentation (even the lightest color), easy to blend, and durability (no creasing, and I didn’t wear a primer).

Smashbox Glambox Luxe Metallics

Rose Quartz, Gilded Nude, Surge Blush Rush, Luxe eyeshadow quad, Vamp liner

On the eyes:

  • Cream color on inner eye and along browbone under brow
  • Light copper color all over lid from lashes to crease
  • Bronze color in in socket for definition, and under inner lower lashes
  • Darker bronze color on outer V and blended up into crease slightly, and under outer lower lashes
  • Vamp on both waterlines and along upper lashline
  • 2 coats of Full Blown mascara

  

On the lips:

  • Smashbox Gilded Nude lipgloss

On the face:

  • Missha BB Boomer cream
  • Missha Perfect Cover bb cream in #21
  • Laura Geller Balance and Brighten Regular
  • Smashbox Blush Rush in Surge
  • Fusion Soft Lights in Luster

I paid for these products myself and receive no compensation at all for this honest review.

About Essy
I'm finally figuring out this makeup thing in my 30's. It's so much fun to collect and play with new colors and styles. I'm not a makeup artist, and far from it. I welcome any comments and tips you have!

2 Responses to Smashbox Glambox Luxe Metallics Set

  1. grobbu says:

    Great Review! I actually really like how the liner looks a little purpley. Overall very nice pallet.

  2. Melissa says:

    I’m wondering, is the Rose Quartz lipgloss similar to Chanel Braise?

Leave a Reply

