Sleek MakeUp Curacao Palette

If you’ve never heard of Sleek MakeUp, check them out. I love to spend hours watching youtube makeup tutorials, and one of my favorites to watch is pixiwoo. They’re two sisters in the UK that do some lovely looks, are great at explaining techniques, and are generally just fun to watch. It’s a special treat to have a video with both of them in it at the same time. Anyway, they frequently use this inexpensive brand that is available everywhere in the UK. We can get it in the US but have to order online, and international shipping charges can be pricey. However, my friend Susan and I waited until they had a free shipping code, and split an order so that we could both try out the brand.  Their palettes are really affordable at about $10-$12 each for 12 pressed shadows in each palette. I haven’t tried any of the other products, but after using the eyecolors for the first time, I’m itching to get my hands on some more of their products.

The first palette I ripped open was the Curacao palette, full of obscenely bright colors and lovely to look at. I let my creative instinct take over and threw the colors on without thinking about it too hard. The three main elements I look for in a new makeup are blendability, pigmentation, and  staying power.  These colors are so incredibly pigmented! The first color I used was the teal color on the inner lid, and I swear to you, it was like spreading soft butter on toast. When I applied the next color (bright purple) and blended the two colors together in the center of the lid, it was like stirring cream into my coffee. I’ve never encountered colors that blend so easily. As for staying power, I used an eyeliner that really irritated my eyes, so my eyes were watering like crazy – I had smudging on the outer corners because of that. Other than the cryball-induced smudging, they stayed in place all day with a primer.

For “street makeup,” I am so impressed. Not all of their palettes are the crazy colors, they have all kinds of different palettes – neutrals, smoky, soft and feminine – there’s something for everyone. Stay tuned tomorrow for another Sleek look from one of the other palettes I got!


On the eyes:

  • tarte LIFTED eye primer
  • Blue Hawaiian on inner 1/2 of lid
  • Purple Haze on outer 1/2 of lid, then blended in the middle with Blue Hawaiian
  • Screwdriver on inner corner and above Purple Haze on outer corner
  • Singapore Sling in outer V and blended into crease
  • Singapore Sling and Purple Haze blended together on outer lower lashes
  • Martini all along browbone
  • tarte emphasEYES black liner on upper lashline and both waterlines
  • L’oreal Voluminous mascara in Carbon Black

* even though there are a lot of elements to the eye look, the colors are so blendable that it only took about ten minutes!

  

On the lips:

  • Urban Decay Super Saturated High Gloss lip color in Fbomb
  • BE 100% Natural lipgloss in Plumtini

On the face:

  • Cho Bo Yang BB cream #1
  • Laura Geller Balance and Brighten Regular
  • MAC mineralize blush in Feeling Flush
  • Original mineral veil

I purchased these products myself and receive absolutely no compensation for this honest review.

About Essy
I'm finally figuring out this makeup thing in my 30's. It's so much fun to collect and play with new colors and styles. I'm not a makeup artist, and far from it. I welcome any comments and tips you have!

3 Responses to Sleek MakeUp Curacao Palette

  1. Love Sleek Makeup!!! You need to try their blushes… heavenly!! Now I need to go buy this palette 🙂

    • Essy says:

      Good to know about the blushes, I need some more peachy/corally blushes so I’ll check them out next time I order from them. I am so loving exploring the palettes that I got, I wish they were readily available here. Maybe someday… 😀

  2. melody says:

    I love this!! So, here is a question for you…please answer this on facebook too.
    When doing your eyes, do you start from the inner corner (closest to your bridge of your nose) or from the outer corner??? Thank you for helping me learn techniques!!!!

Leave a Reply

