Make Up For Ever Aqua Cream and some Buxom pups

A while back, I went to Sephora and got a sample of a Make Up For Ever aqua cream shadow in the turquoise color. It is a very generous sample, since you only need a tiny little bit of product for each use. I really wish I had thought to get a more usable color like cream or light pink. This is the first time I used this product and my first impressions are that you get a huge color payoff, but it’s hard to blend. The staying power is very good. To test it, I wore it over an eye primer that tends to crease on me (Urban Decay Primer Potion, original), and 12 hours after first applying it, I found that there was some very slight creasing on my inner lid. I was also outside in the pouring rain, and running around doing housework today, so I’m assuming it would hold up better over a good primer and not as much running around as I did today.  I did wear some Buxom stay-there eyecolors with it – mostly to tone down the color and try to blend it out.

I also got a very generous sample of Laura Mercier red lip stain. This is another product that will last me forever and has a great color payoff. I actually just keep the little sample jar in my purse, and pop some color on my lips using my finger to gently pat it on, for those days that I’m wearing just a gloss that wears off easily. I like this product a lot, and while I didn’t wear it on my lips today, I did try it as a cheek color. I just used a teensy tiny amount and blended it out with my fingers and it gave my cheeks a nice flushed look.

I’m kind of chatty today, but I have one more short review. I got a sample (I seriously love samples) of Smashbox liquid foundation. While I’ve been a Bare Escentuals foundation wearer for about 10 years, my curiosity has gotten the best of me lately and I’ve wanted to try out some liquid foundation. I really love the bb creams I’ve been trying but this Smashbox foundation really did not do it for me. It left my face feeling greasy and heavy, and didn’t give nearly enough coverage. I might have gotten better coverage if I had built up the product for a fuller coverage effect, but I didn’t want multiple layers of something that already felt heavy and greasy. More foundation reviews to come: tarte, MUFE HD, and Dior skin.

Clockwise from left: Schnauzer, MUFE aqua cream in turquoise, Beagle, Pug

On the eyes:

  • Urban Decay Original Potion Primer
  • MUFE aqua cream in turquoise on lid from lashes to crease, using Foil & Fuse brush
  • Buxom Pug blended over MUFE aqua cream starting at outer corner and blending in, and applied under lower lashes
  • Buxom Schnauzer blended into crease
  • Buxom Beagle blended above Schnauzer and up to brow, also on inner corner
  • Buxom Leatherette lashliner in both waterlines and along upper lashes
  • Buxom mascara

  

On the lips:

tarte lipgloss (it came in the Royal Collection and has no name), a baby pink sheer gloss with some gold shimmer

On the face:

  • Smashbox foundation
  • Laura Mercier red lip stain blended lightly on cheeks
  • Sephora brand brow pencil to fill in brows

About Essy
I'm finally figuring out this makeup thing in my 30's. It's so much fun to collect and play with new colors and styles. I'm not a makeup artist, and far from it. I welcome any comments and tips you have!

One Response to Make Up For Ever Aqua Cream and some Buxom pups

  1. cindy says:

    Ooh, but that’s SOO pretty!!! Love the eyecolors!!! Giving me inspiration to finally attempt to wear the Loli that I acquired!!!

Leave a Reply

