Mally Champagne, Bare Escentuals Lucky Penny & Mystery

I recently made my first Mally Beauty purchase. I’ve been itching to try this brand out, and I’m glad I made the leap. I have heard nothing but good things about Mally’s shadow sticks – Mally herself promises that they’re bulletproof, “not comin’ off til you take them off!” I applied a swatch of the Saddle Shimmer shadow stick to the back of my hand the afternoon my package arrived, and it was still there the following morning…. and this was after peeling beets with my bare hands and scrubbing the red beet stain under hot water! I was seriously shocked at how long the shadow stick lasted on my hand without primer. On my eyes, it was the same story. I found it to be seriously smudge-proof, and it didn’t budge all day.

I also tried out the cancellation concealer duo, which covered the blue hue around my inner eye reasonably well. I need to play with this product some more before making a final decision. I’m not a great person to give a review on the black liquid liner that also came in the kit – I just have a hard time with liquid liners in general. My initial impression was that it was very liquidy, which got all over my lashes and made the mascara a bit clumpy. However, I’m chalking up most of my displeasure with it to operator error. 🙂

I found the lipgloss that came as a free gift with purchase to be very moisturizing to my lips. It really had almost no pigmentation to speak of, but I liked the feel of it on my lips – not tacky or sticky at all.

On the eyes:

  • Bare Escentuals Brightening opal primer
  • Mally Shadow Stick in Champagne all over lid
  • Bare Escentuals Mystery swept over Champagne
  • Bare Escentuals Lucky Penny in crease
  • Mally liquid eyeliner in black
  • tarte Lights Camera Lashes mascara

  

On the lips:

  • Mally lipgloss in Glamorista

On the face:

  • Missha cho bo yang bb cream
  • Laura Geller Balance N Brighten in Fair
  • Mally Beauty cancellation concealer duo
  • Smashbox blush rush in Surge
  • Original mineral veil

About Essy
I'm finally figuring out this makeup thing in my 30's. It's so much fun to collect and play with new colors and styles. I'm not a makeup artist, and far from it. I welcome any comments and tips you have!

4 Responses to Mally Champagne, Bare Escentuals Lucky Penny & Mystery

  1. Gosia Borchardt says:

    So I absolutely LOVE this look, but I don’t have Mally Champagne color!! I’m a BE ho… any chance you could PLEASE recommend a similar color to Mally’s?

    Thanks so much!!!
    Gosia

    P.S. I may not comment much but I check your blog everyday!!! And most of your looks (pretty much all of your BE’s) are going straight into my ‘look-book’ =)

  2. Essy says:

    Hi Gosia!! I’d try it with Celestine or even Nude Beach, maybe High Shine Glisten. Anything that’s a neutral champagney beige shimmer should work. Thanks for your sweet comments! I was a “BE ho” (LOL!!) until fairly recently too, so I know the obsession. 🙂

    • Gosia Borchardt says:

      Thank you so much!!
      You know, I have another question. I noticed that you’ve been using the Make Up For Ever HD powder. What do you think? I love their Aqua EYES liners but I haven’t ventured out beyond them…
      I still use BE’s MV but was curious if MUFE’s product is better? Sometimes I find MV to look a little obvious on my face..

      Thanks again!!
      Gosia

      • Essy says:

        I love my original MV but I agree, it can look powdery sometimes. I feel like MUFE hd powder gives a really nice soft focus finish without looking powdery at all. A little goes a long way (as does MV), and I think when I use it AFTER blush, it doesn’t cover up the blush color like MV sometimes does. I like the one Aqua Eyes liner that I have (thanks for the reminder to dig that out!), and I love their smokey lash mascara too.

        I love detailed questions like these. 🙂

Leave a Reply

