tarte Moss and Bare Escentuals Shantung

I’m still trying to figure out the best lighting in my new place, so I apologize for any funky lighting from the last week or so. Anyway, I wanted to test out the durability of the tarte emphasEYES cream shadows with and without a primer, so I wore a primer on my left lid and no primer on my right. With no shadow over it, it held up fairly well, and after about eight hours of wear, there was slight creasing on both eyelids. I think these are beautiful products, that last very well under a powder shadow.

I also used Mally Beauty cancellation concealer again today. This is a very thick, very effective concealer system. I use the fair shade, which is slightly lighter than my skin tone, and it works well for me. I do notice slight caking when I wear this concealer under a powder foundation, but I think it would hold up really well when worn under a liquid or cream foundation. It covers really well, and didn’t budge or fade. Two thumbs up from me, and I would recommend this system for those of you that love cream (as opposed to powder) concealers – over MAC, over Laura Mercier, and over Benefit Erase Paste. I think it covers as well as tarte Maracuja creaseless concealer, and I enjoy both of them.

On the eyes:

  • Bare Escentuals Brightening primer (on one eye)
  • tarte emphasEYES Amazonian Clay cream shadow on the lid
  • Bare Escentuals Shantung blended into crease
  • tarte emphasEYES brown eyeliner along upper lashline
  • Bare Escentuals Retro liner shadow in both waterlines
  • tarte gifted Amazonian Clay mascara

  

On the lips:

  • Bare Escentuals Natural lipliner
  • tarte Serenity lipgloss

On the face:

  • Bare Escentuals Brightening primer
  • Mally Cancellation Concealer system under eyes and around nose
  • Laura Geller Balance N Brighten in Fair
  • tarte Tipsy blush
  • Make Up For Ever HD microfinishing powder

About Essy
I'm finally figuring out this makeup thing in my 30's. It's so much fun to collect and play with new colors and styles. I'm not a makeup artist, and far from it. I welcome any comments and tips you have!

2 Responses to tarte Moss and Bare Escentuals Shantung

  1. Beth says:

    I use BE foundation matte and wanted to know what you think is the best concealer for brown spots ?

    • Essy says:

      Hi Beth! The reason I started exploring cream/liquid concealers in the first place was blotchy skin that BE bisque/well rested wouldn’t cover well enough. I’m not a makeup artist, so I can’t tell you from a professional standpoint, but I think thick, creamy concealers are the best for covering up spots – I’ve heard Bobbi Brown is great for it, but I found that one to get really cakey. I would honestly say tarte creaseless concealer might be your best bet – it covers up, and stays in place, and I think it gets the least amount of cakiness under BE foundation. Try looking for one on bbcafe in the delphi forums instead of paying full price. 🙂 Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

