Bare Escentuals Bare Luxuries Golden Iris

The new Bare Escentuals holiday kit, Bare Luxuries, is a sight to behold. It comes with the following:

  • READY Eyeshadow Duo with 0 .05 oz. each of Golden Iris (amber) and Azure Iris (lavender)
  • (2) 0.044 oz. Round the Clock Waterproof Eyeliners, 1 in 10PM (mocha) and 1 in Noon (navy)
  • (2) 0.15 fl. oz. Marvelous Moxie Lipglosses, 1 in Wild One (peach sheen) and 1 in Daredevil (berry sorbet)
  • (1) 0.03 oz. RoseGold Radiance All-Over Face Color (lustrous rose)
  • (1) shadow brush; (1) Flawless Face Brush; and bag.

This is my first time using the new solid READY shadows from Bare Escentuals, and my first impression is that they are velvety smooth and have a good amount of pigment for the amount of product used (very little is needed). The kit is not meant to wear all at once, like many kits are, but it gives the option to wear a cool-toned look (purple shadow/navy liner/berry lip) or a warm-toned look (amber shadow/mocha liner/peach lip), so I like that there are options to mix and match. I was nervous about this amber colored shadow, which is why I decided to try it first. It’s very yellow and I think it would look AMAZING on dark skin tones. I added in a brown contour color to add a little depth, but I think another accent color that could work well would be plum. I’m not completely sold on the Golden Iris color just yet, but I will enjoy working with it until I find the perfect accent color.

The eyeliners apply REALLY smoothly and last really well on my lashlines. I found that they last longer than the Bare Escentuals Big & Bright liners, and definitely last longer on the waterline (although it doesn’t hold up all day on the waterline). The lipglosses are really something, and I am very impressed. I’ve never been a big fan of the Bare Escentuals 100% Natural lipglosses because I found them to be slippery and very short-wearing. This new Marvelous Moxie formulation lasts longer and gives the great plumping tingle that I love from the Buxom line, but they’re all natural. The colors are sheer but pretty, and will quickly become “purse lippies” which in my purse, is a place of great honor. 🙂

A really interesting fact that Bare Escentuals provides in the product insert is that the eyeshadow duo is formulated to be iris-enhancing. Copied directly from the insert:

Experience a total transformation with bareMinerals Ready Eyeshadow.  This iris-enhancing palette is designed to intensify the color of your iris. Enriched with multidimensional pearl pigments, these universally flattering shades create a distinctive optical effect that amplifies every eyecolor. The difference is dramatic; the effect is mesmerizing. With the silky texture and incredible anti-aging benefits of this eyeshadow, you’re ready to reveal a whole new hue.

Golden Iris:

  • BLUE EYES look more intensely blue
  • GREEN EYES look lighter green
  • HAZEL EYES can look more illuminatedd, more intensely green or more dramatically brown
  • BROWN EYES appear highlighted with golden amber flecks of color to look brighter green or more dramatically brown

Asure Iris:

  • BLUE EYES look illuminated and icy-cool
  • GREEN EYES look more intensely green
  • HAZEL EYES appear highlighted with amber flecks of color to look more intensely amber or more dramatically brown
  • BROWN EYES appear enhanced with deep navy tones to look more intensely amber or navy blue

  

Other products making an appearance today: Mally cancellation concealer, Missha Cho Bo Yang bb cream, Laura Geller Balance N Brighten in Fair, Bare Escentuals Rose Radiance, tarte Lights Camera Lashes mascara, Bare Escentuals cherry coco truffle

I paid for this product myself and receive absolutely no compensation for this honest review.

About Essy
I'm finally figuring out this makeup thing in my 30's. It's so much fun to collect and play with new colors and styles. I'm not a makeup artist, and far from it. I welcome any comments and tips you have!

4 Responses to Bare Escentuals Bare Luxuries Golden Iris

  1. Kellie S says:

    Stunning!!! Oh, now I’m re-thinking my thought to not order the TSV! Sara, you are SUCH an enabler! LOL xoxo

  2. Susan says:

    I agree with you about the Golden Iris, I tried mine and it needs a little something more for it to work on me. I will try a crease color. Lippies are great! I am wearing the cool side of the kit today and like it.

  3. lisakaye says:

    Perhaps you’re not accustomed to wearing yellowish shadow but your eye color looks amazing with the gold color on your lid!

  4. Pingback: Bare Escentuals READY: The Playlist (Teal & Olive) « Beauty Beginner

Leave a Reply

