Boscia BB Cream Review and Before & After Pictures!

There are tons of BB creams out there on the market, and I’ve only tried a few of them, but I can say that of the BB creams that I’ve tried, this Boscia BB cream is hands-down my favorite. If you’re unfamiliar with what BB creams actually are, dermatologists initially used it to help their laser surgery patients protect, soothe and regenerate their highly sensitive skin while also providing good coverage for post-laser scars and redness..  The product spread like wildfire in Korea when some Korean actresses (known for their flawless skin) started using these “blemish balms.” From there, the trend spread through Japan, and now it’s making its way through North America and Europe.

I’ve been using a popular brand, Missha, and several of their BB creams for months now. I’ve noticed far fewer breakouts since I started using the product. I asked for a sample of the Boscia BB cream at Sephora a few months ago, but actually never even tried it until recently, because the shade of it looked far too dark for my fair skin. However, once I applied it, I was amazed that it really blended to adjust to my skintone for a sheer to medium coverage. My absolute favorite feature of this product is that my very dry skin feels hydrated all day long.

Boscia describes their BB cream in the following way:
This oil-free B.B. Cream is the ultimate multi-tasking treatment. The gentle botanical formula creates a lustrous, flawless finish as it hydrates, firms and soothes the skin. Helps diminish the appearance of pores, fine lines and uneven skintone while providing long-wearing, natural coverage that conceals imperfections.  Packed with protective antioxidants and SPF 27 PA++ physical sunscreen to defend skin from future damage without irritation. The PA system is a grade of UVA protection that provides superior defense against the rays that cause collagen damage and photo-aging of the skin.

Abyssine, a naturally-derived survival molecule, shields and soothes skin.
Hydroxyprolisilane promotes skin elasticity and reduces the appearance of fine lines.
Beta-Glucan provides essential moisture and protects against environmental damage.
Jojoba Leaf, a powerful antioxidant, combats free radical damage while it nourishes and protects skin to prevent premature aging, and Willowherb, a unique anti-irritant, helps to calm skin inflammation and reduce visible redness and irritation.

I think that it lasts longer when worn over a thin layer of primer, but the primer isn’t totally necessary – especially if you want to keep all the yummy benefits of the BB cream directly on top of your skin (instead of a layer of primer coming between skin and bb cream). My favorite way to use it is to blend into well moisturized skin, layering for coverage if necessary on problem spots. Then I’ll buff either Bare Escentuals foundation or Laura Geller Balance N Brighten over the BB cream for some added coverage, and finish with blush and a finishing powder.  With dry skin, I struggle with cakiness when using so many products – and with Boscia BB cream, I have noticed that for the first time in years, my poor dry nose and forehead are holding hydration better than ever before.

I paid for this product myself and receive absolutely no compensation for this honest review.

About Essy
I'm finally figuring out this makeup thing in my 30's. It's so much fun to collect and play with new colors and styles. I'm not a makeup artist, and far from it. I welcome any comments and tips you have!

6 Responses to Boscia BB Cream Review and Before & After Pictures!

  1. Susan says:

    I really like Boscia’s BB Cream too! My skintone has become more even since I started using it. I can use it directly on the skin following moisturizer and it stays all day. YAY!

  2. Gosia Borchardt says:

    ah… my poor wallet… just ordered this =) also the MUFE microfinishing powder.
    Have you ever used the MUFE HD foundation? what did you think?

    Thanks!!!
    Gosia

    • Essy says:

      My most sincere apologies to your wallet!! I have not used the MUFE HD foundation , but thanks for the reminder – I’ll have to get a sample of it next time I’m at Sephora!

  3. Edie says:

    i just rec’d samples of the 21 and 23 of the Missha bb creams. since you have used both, why do you feel Boscia may be better? more hydrating? trying to figure these bb creams out! lol thanks for a great review. i also use the balance and brighten!

    • Essy says:

      Hi Edie – I feel like Boscia is definitely more hydrating. Since I have very dry skin, that’s really important to me. I still like Missha and will continue to use it, but I do prefer Boscia – ESPECIALLY during the winter months!

      • Edie says:

        Hi Essy, thanks for the response. what would be the shade for Boscia that matches with either a Missha 21 or 23? thanks so much!!

Leave a Reply

