Urban Decay NAKED2 palette: Bootycall, Snakebite, Blackout

As many of you have probably heard by now, the first wave of Urban Decay’s highly coveted NAKED2 palette is arriving on doorsteps. I was lucky enough to get in on the first shipment, and while you can find much more detailed swatches and reviews at places like Temptalia or from Karen at Makeupandbeautyblog, I wanted to give you a “Look of the Day” and just a couple of thoughts on the palette.

I like that the packaging is a bit heavier and sturdier than the original NAKED. It comes in a tin package that snaps shut – in comparison to NAKED’s cardboard package and magnetic closure, this is much better for travel. A drawback to a heavier package is that when I had my palette open on my makeup table, the heaviness of the top part (which has the mirror) kept making the whole palette tip over.

The dual-ended brush is a nice touch, and I’m sure many will get a lot of use out of this brush. I’m not a big fan of UD’s brushes, and I’m definitely not a fan of flat eye brushes. This is just my own personal preference. I liked the fluffy side of the brush much better than the smaller, flat side.

As for the colors, I can say that I like these colors better than the original NAKED. NAKED2 has only one repeat (Half-Baked) and it does have a very pigmented matte black, which was glaringly missing from the original NAKED. Tease is a really great contour color (above the crease, below the browbone) for some subtle definition. Original NAKED shadows tend to fade and crease on my eyes, but NAKED2 faded slightly with no creasing after about 10 hours.

If you have neither of these palettes, I’d say NAKED2 is a good buy – but if you can wait for a sale, it’s worth waiting for. If you already have NAKED and like it, then I’d say NAKED2 is unnecessary. Overall, it’s a palette that I’m happy with, and there are a few colors that will have me reaching for it on a regular basis.

On the eyes:

  • bareMinerals original eye primer
  • Foxy from lash to brow, Bootycall on inner lid and under brow
  • Tease for contour definition, Snakebite all over lid
  • Suspect to blend out Snakebite, Blackout in outer corner and lining upper lashes
  • bareMinerals Flawless Definition Volumizing mascara

 

On the lips:

  • LipFusion

On the face:

  • Mally Perfect Prep primer
  • bareMinerals original foundation in Fairly Medium
  • bareMinerals Healthy Radiance, Glee Radiance
  • Make Up For Ever HD microfinish powder

About Essy
I'm finally figuring out this makeup thing in my 30's. It's so much fun to collect and play with new colors and styles. I'm not a makeup artist, and far from it. I welcome any comments and tips you have!

2 Responses to Urban Decay NAKED2 palette: Bootycall, Snakebite, Blackout

  1. Diana Thompson says:

    wow, that looks very nice!

  2. Susan says:

    i LOVE this look! glad the shadows in Naked2 are performing better than in the original for you. way to go, using six shadows in one look! 🙂

Leave a Reply

