Laura Geller: Bake Sale #2

I’ve been eagerly anticipating the second shipment from Laura Geller’s Bake Sale series. The kit includes the following:

  1. Spackle Tinted Makeup Primer in Ethereal
  2. Balance n Brighten SPF 15 Baked Color Correcting Foundation (in your shade)
  3. Blush n Brighten Baked Cheek Color in Sateen Subtle Berry
  4. Baked Eye Pie Shadow Trio in Blueberry Muffin
  5. Double-Ended Shadow and Liner Brush
  6. Italian Marble Lipstick in Mixed Berry

Some of my thoughts:

  1. I don’t have anything against the Spackle primer, except that it does have parabens in it. I’ve been moving away from using face primers since I found the joys of BB creams, which I think work more effectively as a base than a primer does, since they’re not only nourishing to the skin, but provide a little bit of extra coverage. My Spackle from the first shipment is nearly full…. I just don’t reach for it.
  2. I started out my journey with the Balance n Brightens using the shade Regular. It was summertime and the livin’ was easy… and my skin had that great summery glow. I switched to Fair when, in the fall, I saw myself under fluorescent lighting and realized how ORANGE I looked. Now that we’re in the thick of winter, I wanted to give Porcelain¬† a shot, and it’s fantastic. I could keep using the Fair shade to give my pearly white skin a little oomph, but if I’m going for a match, Porcelain works for me! Side note: I recently hit pan on my BnB Fair. I can’t tell you the last time I used a makeup product often enough to actually hit pan!
  3. I’m a big fan of LG’s baked blushes. They are SO PIGMENTED, that I doubt I will EVER hit pan on these, as my brush just needs to glance in the direction of the blush in order to give me plenty of color. The actual berry shade of this one is very pretty, and especially nice in winter for that great flushy glow, like I’ve been sitting in front of a fireplace sipping on some hot chocolate.
  4. I have mixed feelings about the LG Eye Pies. The colors are SO beautiful, but I feel like I need to really pack it on my brush to get the pigmentation that I want. That said, the blue hue in this Pie is a really nice blue with a lot of grey in it. I don’t go crazy for blues, but this one was really easy to work with… without going over the top into Mimi world.
  5. I’m not a fan of LG eye brushes. I don’t think they pick up the product very well, and I don’t think that they blend as well as some other eye brushes. Also, we got the exact same brush in the first Bake Sale shipment. I didn’t like the brush the first time around, so I certainly don’t need two of them.
  6. I LOVE LOVE LOVE LG’s Italian Marble lipsticks. The Strawberry Toffee shade from Bake Sale 1 is one of my all time faves. This one, Mixed Berry, is a fantastic neutral berry. Berry enough to pop, neutral enough to be daytime appropriate. I was surprised that it had quite a bit of a shimmer to it, but I don’t think that it was glittery… just shimmery.

On the eyes:

  • bareMinerals original Prime Time eye primer
  • Laura Geller Baked Eye Pie in Blueberry Muffin – shimmering sand color from lash to brow, taupe color in center of lid, Blueberry color in outer corner and swept under lower lashes
  • bareMinerals Big & Bright eyeliner in Black Diamond
  • Mally Volumizing mascara

On the lips:

  • Laura Geller Italian Marble lipstick in Mixed Berry

On the face:

  • Laura Geller Spackle Tinted Primer in Ethereal
  • Laura Geller Balance n Brighten in Porcelain
  • Laura Geller Blush n Brighten in Sateen Subtle Berry
  • bareMinerals original mineral veil

About Essy
I'm finally figuring out this makeup thing in my 30's. It's so much fun to collect and play with new colors and styles. I'm not a makeup artist, and far from it. I welcome any comments and tips you have!

One Response to Laura Geller: Bake Sale #2

  1. Bridget says:

    Thanks for the review – I wasn’t sure if I would skip this shipment and your excellent pictures and descriptions helped to make my decision. I’m looking forward to your next review.

    Bridget

Leave a Reply

