Valentine’s Day Pinup look video tutorial!

I loved filming this very first tutorial! After many patient requests, I finally got off my lazy butt and gave you what you’ve been asking for. The first time is always the hardest, so now that I have the first one behind me, I’m sure there will be more tutorials and review videos to come. Thanks for your patience, especially those of you who have been asking for a video since the launch of Beauty Beginner. I don’t have professional lighting or a professional camera, but I’m happy to start taking requests. Let me know in the comments what you’d like to see next!

As for this particular look, a pinup or retro look is classic and easy to do, especially for a date on Valentine’s Day (whether it be your first date or your fiftieth date)! The basic components of this look are: flawless skin, pink cheeks, great brows, heavy lashes, winged eyeliner, and, of course… red lips. You can amp up or tone down this look as much as it suits you – you can really play up the liner and lashes, or you can tone it down with a matte red lip or even just red gloss.

On the eyes:

  • bareMinerals 500 Thread Count all over the lid, from lash to brow
  • bareMinerals Rowdy in the crease and very lightly under the middle lower lashes
  • tarte emphasEYES gel liner in Brown along upper lashes and upper waterline
  • tarte Gifted mascara
  • LORAC Multiplex 3d mascara

On the lips:

  • Jordana Plush Plum lip liner
  • Sleek MakeUp Pout Paint in Pinup
  • Buxom Iris lipgloss

On the face:

  • Missha Cho Bo Yang bb cream in Light Beige
  • Amazing Cosmetics concealer in Fair
  • Laura Geller Balance n Brighten in Porcelain
  • bareMinerals Pink Petal blush
  • Make Up For Ever HD microfinish powder

About Essy
I'm finally figuring out this makeup thing in my 30's. It's so much fun to collect and play with new colors and styles. I'm not a makeup artist, and far from it. I welcome any comments and tips you have!

Leave a Reply

