tarte: Glow Your Way to Gorgeous, 3rd shipment

Well, I kind of cheated. I didn’t buy the first two shipments of this tarte Auto Delivery kit, and instead, just purchased this third shipment from my friend who had it shipped directly to me. Worth. Every. Penny. I’m already a huge fan of most of the pieces of this kit, so I knew I’d like it. I just had no idea how much I would love the blush, the brush, and the makeup bag. For me, the makeup bags and the brushes that always come in kits are just extras – they’re the forgotten middle child of a kit. Until I run across the rare kit where the middle child shines and rounds out the whole family by kicking it up a notch.

Here’s what we get:

  1. Maracuja Creaseless concealer: I usually wear Fair, but decided to try Medium to experiment with contouring. This is a really nice, creamy concealer that is actually very good for the skin (loads of Vitamin C in the maracuja oil).
  2. Amazonian Clay 12-hour blush in Dazzled: tarte blushes are known to be long lasting and high quality, and this one is no exception. It’s a lovely rosy color with a hint of shimmer, and will work nicely on most skin tones.
  3. Amazonian Clay cream shadow in Pink Champagne: I was surprised that this cream shadow didn’t lean more towards pink, but I’m still happy with the color. It’s more of a peachy champagne color that is pigmented enough to wear alone or as a base shadow. These work best when applied with a brush rather than with a finger. It’s an excellent addition to my growing collection!
  4. Double-Ended Eye Brush: Comes with an angled liner side and a domed shadow brush side. Both sides are dense and stiff, which is a nice change from the other tarte brushes that I already own.
  5. Face brush: I’m not sure if this brush was intended to be used for blush, but since I didn’t previously own any tarte face brushes, I wanted to try it out. It is SO soft and luxurious! I just kept rubbing it all over my face with a dumb look plastered on my face (seriously!). It worked really nicely with the blush, though it’s a bit large. I also used it for finishing powder and it was really perfect for that.
  6. smolderEYES Amazonian Clay waterproof liner in Brown: smolderEYES liners are jumbo pencils that come with a smudger on one end. These are perfect to crease a soft, smoldering, smoky eye, and the smudger makes it super easy to blend.
  7. Lights Camera Lashes! mascara: This is one of my top 3 favorite mascaras of all time. It gives lashes superior definition and length, with ZERO clumping or flaking or smudging.
  8. LipSurgence lip luster in Obsession: These lip crayons are very moisturizing and have just the right amount of pigment. This is a lovely rosy color that perfectly complements the blush. My only complaint about the tarte LipSurgence products that have shimmer in them (which this one does) is that when the fairly long-lasting color starts to wear off the lips, it leaves the shimmer behind.
  9. Purple quilted makeup bag: If you follow me on Facebook, you’ll know that I travel quite a bit. This is a very soft, lovely bag that will be perfect for a weekend trip. It’s probably one of my favorite “kit” makeup bags I’ve ever received, because of the color, the perfect size (so many bags are WAY too tiny for this makeup junkie), and the luxuriousness of the soft material.

On the eyes:

  • bareMinerals original eye primer
  • tarte emphasEYES Amazonian Clay cream shadow in Pink Champagne, applied with domed shadow brush, all over lid from lash to crease
  • tarte smolderEYES Amazonian Clay waterproof liner applied in a thick line on upper lashline, and lower lashline and waterline, then smudged and blended into crease using the smudging tool
  • tarte Lights Camera Lashes mascara (2 coats on upper lashes, 1 coat on lower)

 

On the lips:

  • tarte LipSurgence in Obsession

On the face:

  • CoverFX liquid foundation
  • tarte Maracuja Creaseless Concealer in Fair
  • tarte Maracuja Creaseless Concealer in Medium to contour cheeks
  • tarte Amazonian Clay 12-hour blush in Dazzled
  • Make Up For Ever HD microfinish powder

About Essy
I'm finally figuring out this makeup thing in my 30's. It's so much fun to collect and play with new colors and styles. I'm not a makeup artist, and far from it. I welcome any comments and tips you have!

2 Responses to tarte: Glow Your Way to Gorgeous, 3rd shipment

  1. edie says:

    Essie great review. I got this as a single shipment, now I am sorry I did not get this one. I love the creme shadow. It looks so beautiful on you.

  2. Susan says:

    This is indeed such a great kit, which looks fabulous on you!! I like the summery look you put together.

Leave a Reply

