Review: tarte Amazonian Clay Foundation

Want to know why I love Sephora so much? Yeah, I like the makeup (just a little bit) and I like the fragrances and skincare and being in good company with fellow makeup junkies, but what I really love about Sephora is that they give samples if you ask for them. I spend lots of hard-earned cash in their store, and many of those dollars were spent because I was able to sample something for a few days before purchasing a product.

Case in point: tarte’s Amazonian Clay 12-hour Full Coverage foundation. Quite a while ago, I wasn’t terribly impressed with a tarte foundation that I’d tried as a sample, but after reading so many rave reviews about this foundation, I asked for a sample. On the first day that I tried it, I applied it with my fingers and the results were “ehhh.” But the second day is when the magic happened! I applied it by dotting it all over my face and then blending with the Bare Escentuals Feather Light face brush. Bada bing, bada boom, I ran back to Sephora and purchased it.

Because every makeup junkie loves having bare-faced pictures of themselves on the internet (again), I’m sharing these before and after pictures. In the before shots, all I have on my face is moisturizer and lip balm. In the after shots, the only products on my face are foundation and a little brow pencil.

What tarte says about their product:

  • Get 12 hours of flawless coverage with this long-wearing, skin-perfecting formula with UVA/UVB SPF 15.  It’s full coverage with a weightless texture. With a broad range of shades available and a supremely blendable and buildable formula, everyone can achieve skin that looks healthy and natural. Free of parabens, sulfates, synthetic fragrances, petrochemicals, phthalates, GMOs, and triclosan.
  • Whether oily, dry or combination, “skin-smart” Amazonian clay will intuitively adjust to meet and address your skin concerns for makeup that wears better, longer, and truer.  This revolutionary foundation reduces the appearance of pores, discolorations, and imperfections and ensures a perfectly flawless complexion every time.

As you can see, I have blotchiness and uneven skintone. This foundation applied smoothly and blended like no other to create a fairly natural looking, even base. It really does last all day on me  – without a primer, it still looks great at about 11 hours (before I washed it off before bed), and with a primer, it hadn’t budged or faded after about 13 hours of wear (before I washed it off). I did hear from one person that after continued use, her skin dried out quite a bit, but I have not experienced this – and you all know by now that I struggle with dry skin. I heard from one other that it emphasized her dry patches but I did not experience that either.

This product can be purchased at sephora.com HERE or get it with a brush on QVC HERE.  I found that the Ivory shade (one step up from “Fair”) works nicely on my fair, pinkish neutral skintone. In BareMinerals foundation, I wear Fairly Medium.

It has no scent, which I like. I’m not scent sensitive, but I did return a Dior foundation because it was so strongly fragranced. The texture is interesting, almost like it’s whipped a bit. It’s a liquid, but slightly bouncy – sort of frothy even though that’s a bizarre word to use for foundation.

I will repurchase this product with pleasure when I run out. If you have a Sephora near you, go ask for a sample and give it a try. Here’s my finished look once I added in some blush and eye makeup:

  • This product was purchased by Beauty Beginner for personal use and review. For PR considerations, please email sarawheelerlopez@gmail.com
About Essy
I'm finally figuring out this makeup thing in my 30's. It's so much fun to collect and play with new colors and styles. I'm not a makeup artist, and far from it. I welcome any comments and tips you have!

Leave a Reply

