Review: NYX Crimson Amulet Collection

I’ll be honest. I love me some Johnny Depp. When I saw this new NYX Collection that was inspired by Johnny Depp’s new movie, “Dark Shadows,” there wasn’t any question about whether or not I wanted it. I’m excited about the movie, and I’m definitely excited about this palette. It retails for $24.99 at Ulta and nyxcosmetics.com.

It has a snap closure and opens up like a book to reveal 24 eyeshadows on the left half, a middle “page” with a mirror and some ideas for different looks, and on the right side we find 4 lipsticks, 5 blushes, a highlighter, an eyeshadow primer, and a black liquid liner. Whew! That’s a whole lot of makeup for such a good price.

The eyeshadows are good quality, but not GREAT quality. I think their staying power is impressive, and it’s a really nice mixture of shades that includes sheens and mattes. I’ve tested maybe half the shadows so far, and I think the pigmentation leaves something to be desired, so it takes a couple of applications to get a good pop of color. Once you get the color on, though, it stays on.

I’ve always been a fan of NYX Cosmetics lip products – I think they’re some of the best lip products you can get for the price. Although I’m not a fan of having to use a lip brush, the lipsticks in this collection don’t disappoint in their color or wearability. I’ve never tried a NYX blush, and I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised! They’re all very soft and blendable, and it’s a nice mixture of shades from babydoll pink to raspberry to peach.

Overall, this collection is very travel friendly, which is a big plus for me! I think it’s a great deal for less than $25, especially if you use one of Ulta’s coupons that are always available. Now, I just have to wait patiently for the Dark Shadows movie to premiere!

About Essy
I'm finally figuring out this makeup thing in my 30's. It's so much fun to collect and play with new colors and styles. I'm not a makeup artist, and far from it. I welcome any comments and tips you have!

Leave a Reply

